Quick Search

Keyword
Title
Author
Description
ISBN
Advanced Search
 
 
 
 
Valeria's Last Stand: A Novel SIGNED 1ST, MARC FITTEN
Stock Image

Author Name    Fitten, Marc

Title   Valeria's Last Stand

Binding   Hardcover

Book Condition   Used - Good

Publisher    Bloomsbury USA April 2009

ISBN Number    1596916206 / 9781596916203

Seller ID   480666

A comic romp celebrating late-flowering love in a Hungarian village that will appeal to readers of "The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society "and "A Short History of Tractors in Ukrainian."

Valeria is a whale in a puddle. She harrumphs her daily way through her backwater Hungarian village, finding equal fault with the new, the old, the foreign, and the familiar. Her decades of universal contempt have turned her into a touchstone of her little community--whatever she scorns the least must be the best, after all. But, on a day like any other, her spinster's heart is struck by an unlikely arrow: The village potter, long known and little noticed, captures her fancy, and Valeria finds herself suddenly cast in a role she never expected to play. This one deviation from character, this one loose thread, is all it takes for the delicately woven fabric of village life to unravel. And, for the first time in a long time, Valeria couldn't care less. With humor and sensitivity, author Marc Fitten delivers an unexpected and entirely inspiring first novel that will leave you begging for more.

Price = 6.99 USD



Questions, comments, or suggestions
Please write to info@EAGLEEYEBOOKS.COM
Copyright©2017. All Rights Reserved.
Powered by ChrisLands.com

 

 

cookie